Book and Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars

tfios book

Yes, I’m a guy and I read this book. And I also watched the movie. And I thoroughly enjoyed it. Go ahead- throw your stereotypes at me and make fun of me. I don’t care. Call me a girl but I for one, enjoyed both the movie and the book. The book was also written by a guy, not a girl.

If you’re a stickler about spoilers then I would be cautious about reading this. It won’t be too much revealing of events; nothing you can’t find from the back of the book. I’ll definitely be discussing the book and movie so if you haven’t read or seen either then you might not know what I’m talking about.

The Book

I’m going to be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of books in fact, some people drink a glass of milk to sleep; but me, I read books to put me to sleep. Although, some extraordinary authors like John Green who wrote The Fault in Our Stars, will actually keep me up reading at night. The Fault in Our Stars is a story about two characters whom deal with the tragic life of cancer and fall in love. Augustus Waters, has had cancer but is now free from it. Hazel Grace, is currently dealing with cancer and it affects her lungs so, she had to carry and air tank with her to aid her in breathing. They meet through a little group for teens who are dealing with cancer and in the group they discuss and share stories and offer support to each other. Augustus didn’t have cancer but he was there to support his friend Issac. At the support group, Hazel caught Augustus’ attention and he couldn’t stop but notice her. Using his charming, smooth suave, Augustus was able to convince Hazel to hangout with him. And from then on the rest is history. I don’t want to spoil too much. But, the thing that got me to like this book so much wasn’t just the events that occurred as I was reading but my overall reaction to the book after I read the last page.

The book was not some book about cancer to make you feel bad for kids that have to deal with this in real life, but more about the kids falling in love despite their harsh obstacle in life. Society cast away these terminally ill people into this category of pity. People don’t look at these victims of the disease the same way as normal people. But, these people who are suffering from diseases like cancer do have lives. They are just like everyone else and want the same thing in life. For Hazel and Augustus they found love. People don’t think of terminally ill people as ones who worry or want that kind of stuff but they’re wrong. One cannot simply invoke the feeling that emerges throughout the book in a simple summary but after I read the book it just made me go, “wow..” There were so many mixed feelings I had while reading this book. The book was truly a great story and I appreciate John Green for sharing this story to the world.

I totally recommend reading this book even if you think you like it or not. Chances are you will enjoy it like I did because it really is a great book. John Green created a complex masterpiece that gives the reader an amazing experience while following this story of Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace.

The Movie

tfios movie

With the book already bringing about so many emotions, the movie brought the book to life and created an even more flowing of emotions. Don’t get me wrong, the imagery in the book is spot on. But, the movie is something totally different. It brought on so many more feelings while watching it. It was a great movie that even made me cry. The actors did a great job in displaying the emotions implied by the book into the screen and I felt it really came through with the audience. The entire build up of the story both in the movie and the book really get you emotionally attached to these characters which makes the story all the better. Many people claim how the movies always ruin the books and distorts the book but not in the case of the Fault in Our Stars. John Green was actually on set for majority of the filming and he was happy with how the actors and directors brought his book to life. The on screen chemistry between Ansel Elgort (Augustus) and Shailene Woodley (Hazel) really brought upon great feelings in the movie which the audience really connected to. I definitely recommend watching this amazing movie but only after reading the book first.

 

2 responses

  1. Lifewithcassandra

    Really great post , usually after watching a movie made from a book I loved , I get disappointed but the fault in our stars (movie) just brought this characters I had thought of in my mind to life . The casting was absolutely on point and the acting superb. In this case the movie was as great as the book.

    Like

    March 9, 2015 at 6:02 pm

  2. I haven’t watched the movie (in fear of being struck by sadness), but I did read the book. I thought the book started out strong, but in my opinion the ending was weak. I thought the ending would be bone crushing sadness that everyone had portrayed it to be.

    Like

    March 11, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Leave a Reply

